SEO for Electricians, A Complete Guide

A step-by-step guide on implementing a successful Electrician SEO campaign for your business! Giving you insight on the investment and returns along the way.
Managing Director Benjamin Paine at Digital Nomads HQ

Benjamin Paine

Managing Director at Digital Nomads HQ

Electrician SEO - A Step by Step Guide

In this guide, we are going to break down what, why and how of SEO for electrical companies… Giving you everything you need to understand “what it is” and equally how to do it! Yes… we will tell you everything.

Let’s start with the foundations, understanding SEO, how it’s related to Electrical companies and why so many businesses are investing in SEO in 2024.

What is Electrician SEO?

Electrician SEO or better worded as SEO for Electricians, is the process of optimising an electrical businesses website for better rankings in SERPs (Search Engine Results Pages).

It’s the process of a general SEO campaign tailored towards the strategy of an Electrical business…

So, What makes Electrician SEO different from general “SEO”…

It’s ultimately the same thing, however, SEO is a broad service, and some aspects may not be relevant to a local electrician business in their SEO campaign.

So, what makes it different? – It’s the strategy of your SEO campaign, leaning on localised content and local search terms.

If you want more of a comprehensive overview of SEO, check out our “What is SEO” guide first!

Why is SEO for Electricians Important?


It can be an incredible service & platform for new lead acquisition!

Generating your business’s local leads, highly relevant to your services, will result in more sales and better growth.

97% of people search local companies online before anywhere else… and second to this 46% of all Google searches are looking for localised information – so you want to be part of this mix.

SEO vs PPC for Electricians?

This is a very common question I get on a daily… and it’s not a straightforward answer as both of these work and can be fundamental for successful marketing.

I’ve worked with businesses that have relied on their SEO, equally the same for their paid marketing or PPC campaigns.

So, let me break it into two parts;

The Investment (Cost) & The Return

SEO vs PPC Investment.

SEO is a long-term strategy that has an upfront and continual expense.

Electricians can expect to pay between $1000-$3000AUD p/m for an experienced SEO agency to manage your SEO campaign.

Campaigns will tend to slowly decrease in cost there cost, however, as you obtain the primary keywords your business is looking for “electrician Sydney, Brisbane electrician etc.. you can reduce your spend to what most agencies consider a “maintenance” campaign.

PPC is similar, but is widely considered a much shorter (short-term) strategy… Your investment may be similar with PPC management often between $500-1000AUD p/m with the additional cost of ad budget to consider.

Let’s say you’re targeting Sydney, AU expect to pay between $3.89 to $19.89 AUD per click.
We will break down this in the return section next!

Electrician Sydney CPC Costs

The Return on SEO vs PPC for Electricians

With the understanding that SEO is between $1000-3000 and PPC very similar with the ad budget included… let’s run some numbers across a 12-month campaign in Sydney.

SEO Results for Electricians

$1500 p/m x 12 months = $18,000 AUD

The top 3 ranking positions “Electrician Sydney” are currently generating on average. 500 users p/m, so keeping the numbers conservative by month 6 we estimate 100 users, by 9 months 250 and by 12 months the goal of 500.

Here is a table breakdown of investment vs traffic.

12 month SEO campaign for Electricians

By the end of the 12 months, you would have invested $18,000 for 1550 users
With a statical “Organic traffic” conv. rate average being between 2 – 5% is 54 leads.

Let’s do the same for PPC

PPC Results for Electricians

With the primary keyword between (rounded) $4-$20 the avg being $12.

Let’s replicate the 1550 traffic with your PPC campaign.

1550 x $12 CPC (cost per click) = $18,600 (Excluding management fees)

$750p/m in agency fees $750 x 12 = $9,000

Total PPC investment of $27,600 for the same traffic… Interesting.

To summarise this, there are a few points to take away.

Firstly, your SEO campaign potentially isn’t generating any traffic or leads for the first 6 months, while you still have to invest $9,000.

Whereas your PPC campaign is consistently returning based on your investment month in and month out.

But…Long Term

SEO, when you look at that same data and consider stopping investment in year 2… what happens?

Your PPC campaign is $0 for 0 traffic and leads.

Your SEO is a $0 investment… but you’re still generating that 500 traffic per month, which could look like this;

SEO Campaign 24 months

This would result in 6000 at 3.5% (avg conv.) = 210 leads

And this is why SEO is considered a long-term strategy.

Ok, with the numbers done…

How do to do SEO for an Electricians Website?

Keyword Research

All SEO campaigns start with a keyword planner and research to understand which keywords the campaign is looking to rank for.

In the Electrical industry, there are some common local (geo-modified) searches that you should start with;

  • Electrician [location]
  • Electrician [surrounding suburbs]
  • Local electrician [location]
  • Best electrician [location]
  • Electrical maintenance [location]

    Example: Electrician Sydney, Local Electrician Melbourne etc.

Once you have your keywords mapped out we can start structuring your Local SEO and content to speak to each of these key terms.

Local SEO for Electricians

Local SEO is the optimisation of your content to a geographical area.

With your keywords mapped out, you want to ensure your website has pages speaking to each primary keyword, in each location. This creates highly relevant content for your audience within a defined location.

Pro Tip: Keywords that are closely aligned (within the same topic) should try to be combined into a single page or “cluster” of keywords. You don’t want two pages speaking to Electrician Sydney and the other being Sydney electrician, both of these terms can be put on a single page.

It’s best to combine these keywords into their clusters prior to implementation – it will reduce the risk of overlapping content.

Google My Business

If you haven’t set this up yet… Do it NOW.

Google My Business is an incredible platform for your business to increase its awareness, leads and social proof (reviews). It is paramount in the local service business and if you’re unsure how to set up a profile … follow this guide.

To optimise your GMB (Google My Business) profile, be sure to add your relevant services to your information…. Maintenance, ceiling fans, residential electricians, commercial electricians etc.. all of these primary keywords will help increase your presence and ranking within the Google Map Pack.

On-Page SEO

Title tags, Heading Hierarchy, Content & URLs… let’s summarise some best practices for you.

Title Tags – These need to be concise 50-60 characters and ensure your primary keyword is included! Make it engaging (add a USP) it’ll help increase your click-through rate from SERPs.

Heading Hierarchy (H1, H2 … etc.)

Every page needs an H1… and this should read as a clear indication to what the page is about (again your primary keyword). Example: ”Experienced Sydney Electricians“.

Again keep them short and don’t try to stuff them with keywords.

Page Content

Quality, quality, quality…

Informative, valuable & engaging content wins.
Here are some key things you can include to help you write compelling content;

  • Your process (Booking times, quoting process)
  • USPs (Unique selling points to your business… what sets you apart)
  • Social Proof (Add testimonials, Google reviews etc.)
  • Service Areas (Where you service geographically)
  • About the service – Depending on the page, speak about the service you are offering, and its inclusions and a pricing guide can always work.


Take time on your content, don’t rush it and think that people won’t read through what you are writing.

Good quality content will help you rank and be a quick point of difference to your competitors just using AI.

Off-Page SEO for Electricians

Why do you need off-page seo?

Off-page SEO is the process of building links for your website. Google sees links as a sign of trust within SERPs and ultimately, the more links, the more trust or authoritative your website becomes.

Statistically, the number 1 ranking result in Google has an average of 3.8x more links than position 2-10… so, yes, you need backlinks.

What links do I need?

There are two parts to an off-page strategy for a local business. Citations and Backlinks.

Citations – These are directory listings, displaying your services and business information in your target area.

Examples: Yellow Pages, Yelp, Google Maps, Local Search etc…

Backlinks – These are links from websites that connect back to your website. These generally linking back to you when it’s referencing a service or your business name in context.

How do I build backlinks for my Electrician website?

Start with the directory listings, look for your local directories that allow you to have a listing on their website to promote your service…

Great online directories for Electricians;

  • Localsearch
  • HiPages
  • Yellow Pages
  • OneFlare
  • Bark


All of these platforms will not only give you potential links for your website (which increase your authority as mentioned before) … they can also generate fantastic lead generation and referral traffic.


This is a great foundational start to your SEO campaign and some areas you can quickly implement to ensure your electrician SEO campaign is set on the right track from day 1.

If you ever need support in your campaign, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our incredible SEO team that can support your campaign if you need assistance or wanting to take your campaign up a gear…

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